Archive for June, 2017

Ratings Updated

Posted: 28/06/2017 by Ian in Club News

LaddergraphClub ratings and club ladder have been updated. The current top of the ladder will be a surprise to many, but follows on from an unexpected draw in round 1 of the club champs


Standings At Round 2

Posted: 28/06/2017 by Ian in Club News

Standings at round 2 of of the club rapid champs. Round 3 next week.

1 Richard_Dare 1688 2.0 +B15 +W7
2 Milton_Severinsen 1610 2.0 +B16 +W9
3 Lara_Heppenstall 1560 2.0 +W17 +B10
4 Prashant_Mistry 1642 2.0 +W21 +B8
5 Adam_Hasan-Stein 1429 1.5 =B11 +W21
6 Hilton_Bennett 1666 1.5 =BYE +W18
7 Gary_Judkins 1581 1.0 +W12 -B1
8 Eushin_Kang 1568 1.0 +B19 -W4
9 Ian_Kennedy 1554 1.0 +B20 -B2
10 William_Lynn 1619 1.0 +B22 -W3
11 Paul_Dalley 1550 1.0 =W5 =BYE
12 Kevin_Li 1457 1.0 -B7 +W22
13 Sean_Clark 1466 1.0 =B18 =BYE
14 Graham_Nolan 1634 0.5 =BYE
15 Murray_Tuatini 1520 0.5 -W1 =BYE
16 Joel_Crombie 1459 0.5 -W2 =BYE
17 Dhusar_Chatterjee 1442 0.5 -B3 =BYE
18 Christopher_Symon 1614 0.5 =W13 -B6
19 Cooper_Quinn 1445 0.5 -W8 =BYE
20 Jeff_Xiang 1436 0.5 -W9 =BYE
21 Shilong_Yang 1486 0.0 -B4 -B5
22 Jarvis_Xiang 1473 0.0 -W10 -B12

We will commence the Club Rapid next week. This will be a members only event with time control 25 + 5, one game per night over 6 nights. The first three games will run over the next three weeks, with rounds 4, 5 and 6 after the school holiday break. One half point bye allowed if notified prior to the draw, no byes in the last 2 rounds.  If you are not currently a member but want to take part then you can join on the first night.

A single division Swiss Style Tournament. The overall winner will be awarded the title Club Rapid Champion 2016 and receive all the accolades that are associated with the title. The highest rated junior  will be awarded the title Club Junior Rapid Champion 2016.

The draw will be based on current club ratings. New players without a club rating will be assigned 1500 points for the purposes of the  draw.

No late entries allowed – so if you can’t make it on the first night let me know and you will be awarded a bye. Also if you want to play but might be a little late on the first night let me know and I will include you in the draw. Please don’t turn up late and expect to be added to the draw. Entries will not be accepted in week two or beyond.

Games start at 7.30pm – a 10 minute late time applies (your game is lost if you are 10 minutes late). Clocks will be started at 7:30 even if neither player is present.

Usual FIDE laws apply with  the exception of the Hamilton Chess Club Special Rules found on the website. Although Hamilton Chess Club Special Rules do not call for game forfeit if your mobile goes off please be considerate and set your phone to silent. Disputes committee will be club executive (Hilton Ian and Richard). If one or two of the disputes committee is/are party to a dispute, the remaining member(s) will constitute the disputes committee.  Ties will be decided using tie breaks according to the NZ  standard  1. Direct Encounter. 2. Cumulative (Sum of Progressive Scores). 3. Total Buchholz. 4. Sonneborn-Berger. 5. Buchholz Cut1.   If still tied the award will be shared.

Please bring a pen if you wish to record your games. Recording is not mandatory, but if you don’t record your game you will not be allowed to claim a draw for the 50 move rule or 3 fold repetition unless agreed by your opponent.


And this years blitz champ is ….

Posted: 15/06/2017 by Ian in Club News

Once again Richard takes out the title of club blitz champ. Club junior champ this year is Sivaram. Best upset is JARVIS with an impressive score of 4 in round 1. Only the cumulative scores for players present on both nights is shown.

  Round Cumulative
  1 2  
Richard Dare 5 4.5 9.5
Christopher Symon 5 4 9
Graham Nolan 5 4 9
Sivaram Manoharan 4 4 8
Prashant Mistry 4 4 8
Ian Kennedy 3.5 3 6.5
Richard Jackson 3 3.5 6.5
Jarvis Xiang 4 2 6
Milton Severinsen 3 3 6
Murray Tuatini 3 2.5 5.5
Cooper Quinn 2 1 3
Adam Hasan-Stein 2 0.5 2.5

Club Blitz (2)

Posted: 15/06/2017 by Ian in Club News
1 Richard_Dare 4.5 +B8 +W5 -B2 +W4 =W3 +B7
2 Prashant_Mistry 4.0 +B9 +W4 +W1 -B3 +B7 -W5
3 Sivaram_Manoharan 4.0 +B12 +W7 =B5 +W2 =B1 -W4
4 Christopher_Symon 4.0 +W10 -B2 +W6 -B1 +W9 +B3
5 Graham_Nolan 4.0 +W11 -B1 =W3 +B8 =W6 +B2
6 Richard_Jackson 3.5 -B7 +W12 -B4 +W10 =B5 +W11
7 Milton_Severinsen 3.0 +W6 -B3 +W8 +B9 -W2 -W1
8 Ian_Kennedy 3.0 -W1 +B11 -B7 -W5 +B12 +W10
9 Murray_Tuatini 2.5 -W2 +B10 +W11 -W7 -B4 =W12
10 Jarvis_Xiang 2.0 -B4 -W9 +B12 -B6 +W11 -B8
11 Cooper_Quinn 1.0 -B5 -W8 -B9 +W12 -B10 -B6
12 Adam_Hasan-Stein 0.5 -W3 -B6 -W10 -B11 -W8 =B9

Club Blitz Round 1

Posted: 07/06/2017 by Ian in Club News
1 Christopher_Symon 5.0 +W15 +B8 +W3 -B5 +W12 +B4
2 Graham_Nolan 5.0 +W22 +B7 +W11 -B4 +W6 +B12
3 Richard_Dare 5.0 +B13 +W9 -B1 +W7 +W4 +B5
4 Sivaram_Manoharan 4.0 +B19 +W16 +B10 +W2 -B3 -W1
5 Prashant_Mistry 4.0 +B18 -W11 +B19 +W1 +B10 -W3
6 Gary_Judkins 4.0 +B23 -W10 +B18 +W8 -B2 +W17
7 Eushin_Kang 4.0 +B20 -W2 +B17 -B3 +W13 +W10
8 Jarvis_Xiang 4.0 +BYE -W1 +B13 -B6 +W22 +B11
9 Ian_Kennedy 3.5 +W21 -B3 +W22 -B12 =W17 +B16
10 Milton_Severinsen 3.0 +W12 +B6 -W4 +B11 -W5 -B7
11 Richard_Jackson 3.0 +W14 +B5 -B2 -W10 +B18 -W8
12 Murray_Tuatini 3.0 -B10 +W23 +B16 +W9 -B1 -W2
13 Matt_Crombie 3.0 -W3 +B15 -W8 +B23 -B7 +W18
14 Kevin_Li 3.0 -B11 -W19 +BYE -W18 +B20 +B22
15 Joel_Crombie 3.0 -B1 -W13 -B20 +BYE +W21 +B19
16 Paul Dalley 2.5 +W17 -B4 -W12 =B22 +W23 -W9
17 Lara Heppenstall 2.5 -B16 +BYE -W7 +W19 =B9 -B6
18 Shilong_Yang 2.0 -W5 +B21 -W6 +B14 -W11 -B13
19 Cooper_Quinn 2.0 -W4 +B14 -W5 -B17 +BYE -W15
20 Ben_Hale 2.0 -W7 -B22 +W15 -B21 -W14 +B23
21 Adam_Hasan-Stein 2.0 -B9 -W18 -B23 +W20 -B15 +BYE
22 Sean_Clark 1.5 -B2 +W20 -B9 =W16 -B8 -W14
23 Jeff_Xiang 1.0 -W6 -B12 +W21 -W13 -B16 -W20

Tie-Breaks For Club Blitz Champs

Posted: 01/06/2017 by Ian in Club News

The title of Club Blitz Champion will go to the player scoring the most wins over the two nights. In case of a tie the tie breaks on the second night will be used to decide the winner. Tie breaks will be as for the club champs ie 1. Direct Encounter. 2. Cumulative (Sum of Progressive Scores). 3. Total Buchholz. 4. Sonneborn-Berger. 5. Buchholz Cut1.   If still tied the award will be shared