Archive for August, 2015

Last Nights BLitz

Posted: 26/08/2015 by Ian in Club News

We had 8 rounds of 3 + 2 blitz last night. Top score (7/8) to Prashanth and Richard in the adult division, and top score (7/8) to  Sean and Joel in the Junior division. Blitz again next week, six rounds or 5  + 3. Guests welcome.


1 Prashanth Mistry 7.0 -B3 +W10 +B7 +W5 +W2 +B8 +W4 +W6
2 Richard  Dare 7.0 +W8 +W6 +B5 +W3 -B1 +B4 +W7 +B9
3 Ian  Kennedy 5.0 +W1 +B9 +W6 -B2 -B4 -W5 +BYE +B7
4 Richard  Jackson 5.0 -B6 +B7 +W9 +B8 +W3 -W2 -B1 +W5
5 Stefan  Wagner 5.0 +W7 +B8 -W2 -B1 +W10 +B3 +W9 -B4
6 Michael  Serrate 4.0 +W4 -B2 -B3 +W9 -B7 +W10 +W8 -B1
7 Murray  Tuatini 3.0 -B5 -W4 -W1 +B10 +W6 +B9 -B2 -W3
8 Matt  Crombie 3.0 -B2 -W5 +B10 -W4 +B9 -W1 -B6 +BYE
9 Paul Dalley 1.0 +W10 -W3 -B4 -B6 -W8 -W7 -B5 -W2
10 Thys  Joubert 0.0 -B9 -B1 -W8 -W7 -B5 -B6 -BYE


1 Sean  Clark 7.0 +B5 +W8 +W6 +B2 +B3 -W4 +B7 +W9
2 Joel  Crombie 7.0 +B8 +W3 +B9 -W1 +B5 +W7 +B4 +W10
3 Adam  Hasan-Stein 6.0 +W4 -B2 +W10 +B6 -W1 +B5 +W8 +B7
4 Jeff  Xiang 5.5 -B3 =W5 +B7 +W9 +B6 +B1 -W2 +B8
5 Jarvis  Xiang 3.5 -W1 =B4 +W8 +B10 -W2 -W3 -B9 +BYE
6 Calib  Wilson 3.0 +B7 +W9 -B1 -W3 -W4 +B10
7 Jenny  Xiang 2.0 -W6 -B10 -W4 +B8 +W9 -B2 -W1 -W3
8 Dhusar  Chatterjee 2.0 -W2 -B1 -B5 -W7 +W10 +B9 -B3 -W4
9 Nithin  Perumal 2.0 +W10 -B6 -W2 -B4 -B7 -W8 +W5 -B1
10 Diny  Zhou 2.0 -B9 +W7 -B3 -W5 -B8 -W6 +BYE -B2

Blitz Next Week, Guests Welcome

Posted: 19/08/2015 by Ian in Club News

We will have a Swiss blitz tournament next week of six rounds. Depending on numbers we will probably have an older players and a youngsters division. Guests are welcome. Come along and join in the fun. Doors open 7pm, The blitz will kick off at 7:30. Dont be late.

Club Welcomes Michael Serrate

Posted: 19/08/2015 by Ian in Club News

The club welcomes Michael Serrate as its newest member. Michael will be a valuable addition at the strong end of the club spectrum:  he has played 13 ratable games so far and enters the ratings board with the rank of Rook on a very respectable 1604.Welcome Michael.

Last Night’s Round Robin

Posted: 19/08/2015 by Ian in Club News

Seventeen last night for a mini round robin in three divisions. A few false starts at the end but things eventually settled down to 3 games at time control 10 + 0. Special mention to Richard Jackson, Dhusar and Sean who all manged a clean sweep of their games.

A Division
8 Michael Serrate 2.0 +W14 -B13 +W9
9 Richard Dare 2.0 +B13 +W14 -B8
13 Stefan Wagner 1.0 -W9 +W8 -B14
14 Gary Judkins 1.0 -B8 -B9 +W13
B Division
2 Richard Jackson 3.0 +B16 +B11 +W6
6 Ian Kennedy 2.0 +W11 +W16 -B2
11 Jeff Xiang 1.0 -B6 -W2 +B16
16 Joel Cormbie 0.0 -W2 -B6 -W11
C Division
1 Dhusar Chatterjee 3.0 +B10 +B7 +W5
3 Sean Clark 3.0 +B12 +B17 +W4
4 Jarvis Xiang 2.0 +W15 +W15 -B3
5 Thys Joubert 2.0 +BYE +B12 -B1
7 Caleb Wilson 2.0 +W17 -W1 +B10
10 Nithin Perumal 1.0 -W1 +BYE -W7
12 Paul Clark 1.0 -W3 -W5 +BYE
15 Adam Hasan-Stein 1.0 -B4 -B4 +W17
17 Diny Zhou 0.0 -B7 -W3 -B15

We had 19 players for the round robin last night. Special mention to Graham Nolan and Sean Clark who both won all three of their games. The format was popular and will be repeated next week, don’t be late: games kick off at 7:30 sharp

Division A
2 Graham_Nolan 3.0 +W6 +W12 +W19
9 Richard_Dare 2.0 +W19 +B12
12 Hilton_Bennett 1.0 +W19 -B2 -W9
19 Sivaram_Manoharan 0.0 -B12 -B9 -B2
Division B
6 Gary_Judkins 2.0 -B2 +W16 +W16
18 Murray_Tuatini 1.5 -B16 +B5 =W5
5 Richard_Jackson 1.5 +W10 -W18 =B18
16 Jared_Cannon 1.0 +W18 -B6 -B6
Division C
4 Matt_Crombie 2.5 +W20 =W10 +W11
10 Ian_Kennedy 1.5 -B5 =B4 +W20
11 Joel_Crombie 1.0 -B1 +W20 -B4
20 Jeff_Xiang 0.0 -B4 -B11 -B10
Division D
1 Sean_Clark 3.0 +W11 +B17 +BYE
3 Jarvis_Xiang 2.5 +W14 +BYE =W17
7 Jenny_Xiang 2.0 -B15 +W14 +W8
8 Adam_Hasan-Stein 2.0 +B17 +W15 -B7
14 Diny_Zhou 1.0 -B3 -B7 +W15
15 Thys_Joubert 1.0 +W7 -B8 -B14
17 Nithin_Perumal 0.5 -W8 -W1 =B3

Record Turnout For Waikato Open

Posted: 12/08/2015 by Ian in Club News

DSC00052Forty eight players turned out for the Waikato Open on the Weekend, which is a local record. The open section had 23 players. First was Michaeal Steadman on 5 points, followed then by a six way tie on four points between Russell Dive, Robert Smith, Ben Hague, Daniel Gong, Layla Timergazi, and Alphaeus Ang. Twenty five played in the under 1800 division. Sivaram top scored on five, while Ian Kennedy and  Aaron Wang shared second equal on 4.5 points. Final crosstables are here, and this is the rogues gallery. Thanks once again to Gary for organizing the venue, and Keong Ang for a stirling effort as arbiter.

This weekends Waikato Open looks to be our best ever, with 47 confirmed entries so far, including 7 FIDE titled players (6 FM, and an IM). Registered players can be seen here for the open division, and here for the under 1800. We look forward to seeing you there!

Program for 11th and 18th August

Posted: 05/08/2015 by Ian in Club News

Needs_YouNumbers were a little light this week and the graded double round robin didn’t eventuate. Depending on numbers that attend  we might try and have a mini graded round robin the next two weeks. Groups of four players of similar ability based on club ranking playing against each other, 3 games, time control 15 + 0. Same again the following week. Remember your club needs you to show some commitment and turn up.

Jarvis Wins Four Games In a Row

Posted: 05/08/2015 by Ian in Club News

We didn’t quite have the numbers to make the round robin feasible last night so had an evening of 3 + 2 blitz instead. There was an adult and a junior section. Special mention goes to JARVIS who won his first four games and was outright leader at that point. Unfortunately he dropped his next two gaims but still ended up first equal with Adam and Jeff on 5 points. Jarvis has gained 58 club rating points in his last 15 games, which is more than any other club player, so his chess is really coming along. In the adult division Richard  Graham and Michael were first second and third respectively. Crossstables are below, and club ratings have been updated.


1 Adam Hasan-Stein 5.0 +W3 +B5 -W2 +B4 -B6 +W9 +BYE
2 Jarvis Xiang 5.0 +B8 +W4 +B1 +W7 -B5 -W3 +B6
3 Jeff Xiang 5.0 -B1 +W7 -B4 +W9 +BYE +B2 +W5
4 Sean Clark 4.5 +BYE -B2 +W3 -W1 +B7 +W5 =B8
5 Joel Crombie 4.0 +B9 -W1 +W6 +B8 +W2 -B4 -B3
6 Dhushar Chattergee 4.0 -B7 +W9 -B5 +BYE +W1 +B8 -W2
7 Jenny Xiang 3.0 +W6 -B3 +W8 -B2 -W4 +BYE -B9
8 Nithin Perumal 2.5 -W2 +BYE -B7 -W5 +B9 -W6 =W4
9 Diny Zhou 2.0 -W5 -B6 +BYE -B3 -W8 -B1 +W7


1 Richard Dare 6.0 =W5 +B9 +W2 +B4 =W3 +B7 +B8
2 Graham Nolan 5.0 +W9 -B4 -B1 +W10 +B7 +W6 +W3
3 Michael Serrate 4.5 +W10 +B8 -W4 +W6 =B1 +W5 -B2
4 Richard Jackson 4.0 +B6 +W2 +B3 -W1 -B5 +B10 -W7
5 Hilton Bennett 4.0 =B1 -W6 +B7 +W8 +W4 -B3 =W9
6 Ian Kennedy 4.0 -W4 +B5 +W8 -B3 +W9 -B2 +W10
7 Sivaram Manoharan 3.0 -W8 +B10 -W5 +B9 -W2 -W1 +B4
8 Matt Crombie 2.5 +B7 -W3 -B6 -B5 +W10 =B9 -W1
9 Reuben Sharko 2.0 -B2 -W1 +B10 -W7 -B6 =W8 =B5
10 Thys Joubert 0.0 -B3 -W7 -W9 -B2 -B8 -W4 -B6