Archive for July, 2013

Check This Out

Posted: 31/07/2013 by Ian in Club News

Camera2For those of you keen to revel in the afterglow of the best Regional Chess Tournament in the country Symon Lyall has once again provided a link to his Flickr site with lots of photos. Enjoy.

Club Rapid Round 3

Posted: 31/07/2013 by Ian in Club News

Michael and Eddie are 2 points each in the rapid after three rounds, while Daniel is clear of the field with 3 from 3 in the B division. Crosstables and club ratings have been updated.

Benjamin Symon Top Waikato Junior

Posted: 29/07/2013 by Ian in Club News

Benjamin_Symon_William_Lynn_CupClub member Benjamin Symon was awarded the prestigious “William Lynn” trophy for the best Waikato Junior at the conclusion of this weeks open Tournament. Benjamin scored a credible 4 out of 6 in the Under 1800 division and we look forward to possible higher scores next year. He was as the cup his effort meant he was awarded a share of the cash prize for coming third overall, and a book prize for age and grade achievement.

Club Member Awarded Len Whitehouse Cup

Posted: 29/07/2013 by Ian in Club News

Eddie_Tan_Whitehouse_CupThe Len Whitehouse Cup is awarded every year in memory of an early member of the club who sadly passed away soon after the first Waikato Open. It is awarded to the player, being a resident of the greater Waikato area, who scores highest in the Open division of the tournament. The cup has been awarded continuously for a total of 21 years. This year club member Eddie Tan claimed the honours. Eddie is a recent import from the UK and is proving a strong player at club nights

Waikato Open 2013 Results Are In

Posted: 28/07/2013 by Ian in Club News

DSC05470The Waikato Open 2013 was a great success with 38 players. The Open division was contested by 19 players with FM Bob Smith taking the $325 first prize on a score of out of 5 out 6. As well as the cash prize Bob was pleased with what he calculated to be an extra 22 points added to his FIDE rating following the weekend’s effort. Second place was a three way tie between FM Mike Steadman, FM Mark Noble, and Craig Blaxall. In the Under 1800 division 18 players toughed it out. Richard Dare managed 5 out of 6 to take out first place. Tony Wang was second on 4.5 points, and third place was a three way tie between Benjamin Symon, Allen Fan, and Ian Kennedy all on 4 points. In the grade prizes Caleb Wright (3.5 out of 6) took the U2000 cash prize on points, and there was a five way tie in the U1500 between Daniel Davis, Lillian Dare, Christopher Symon, Murray Tuatini, and Dion Charles, all on 3 out of 6. The Len Whitehouse Cup for the highest scoring Waikato player went to club member Eddie Tan, who managed 3 points in the Open Division. The William Lynn Trophy for the best Waikato Junior went to Benjamin Symon. Club ratings have been updated to reflect the weekend’s games. The full crosstables are here, and the rogue’s gallery is here.  The Champions board has been updated here. Thanks to all the participants, especially those that made the effort to attend from out of town, and thanks once again to Keong Ang for his super smooth running of the tournament. We hope to see you all again next year.

Thirtynine So Far

Posted: 25/07/2013 by Ian in Club News

We have 39 registered for the Waikato Open starting tomorrow night. With a few stragglers we should make 42 or 43. Dont be late, first game starts at 7:15 pm sharp.

Rapid Round Two

Posted: 24/07/2013 by Ian in Club News

We had round 2 of the rapid last night. Wins in the A division for Michael and Asheesh, and in the B division for Daniel Ian RIchard and Brandon. Gary picked up rating points in some casual games after the formal part of the evening to reach an all time personal best of 1554. Statistics and crosstables have been updated. Round 3 next week.