Archive for February, 2020

First 2020 Ratings Posted

Posted: 19/02/2020 by Ian in Club News

graphClub ratings have been updated


Summer Cup At Round 4

Posted: 19/02/2020 by Ian in Club News
1 Colin Barrett-Hogg 4.0 +W7 +B5 +W4 +B9
2 Richard Dare 4.0 +W8 +B18 +W9 +B3
3 Graham Nolan 3.0 +W10 +B15 +W6 -W2
4 Prashant Mistry 3.0 +B19 +W11 -B1 +W8
5 Andrew Malcouronne 3.0 +B20 -W1 +B13 +W10
6 Sivaram Manoharam 3.0 +B26 +W12 -B3 +W11
7 William Crombie 2.5 -B1 +W27 =W15 +B16
8 Nathanial Loy 2.0 -B2 +W28 +B14 -B4
9 Eushin Kang 2.0 +W25 +B22 -B2 -W1
10 Richard Jackson 2.0 -B3 +W26 +B12 -B5
11 Andy Song 2.0 +W24 -B4 +W22 -B6
12 Joel Crombie 2.0 +W28 -B6 -W10 +B15
13 Kevin Li 2.0 -B22 +W25 -W5 +B21
14 William Lynn 2.0 -B15 +B16 -W8 +W22
15 Murray Tuatini 1.5 +W14 -W3 =B7 -W12
16 Ian Kennedy 1.5 =B27 -W14 +B25 -W7
17 Ben FIrestone 1.5 -B18 -W19 =B26 +W23
18 Gary Judkins 1.0 +W17 -W2
19 Rowan Lightfoot 1.0 -W4 +B17
20 Leo Dizon 1.0 -W5 +B24
21 Cam Sundaraj 1.0 +BYE -W13
22 Thomas Beier 1.0 +W13 -W9 -B11 -B14
23 Shan Sundaraj 1.0 +W24 -B17
24 Jarvis Xiang 1.0 -B11 -W20 -B23 +W26
25 Sean Clark 1.0 -B9 -B13 -W16 +BYE
26 Stanley lin 0.5 -W6 -B10 =W17 -B24
27 Daniel Dizon 0.5 =W16 -B7
28 Daniel Loy 0.0 -B12 -B8

Summer Cup At Round 4

Posted: 19/02/2020 by Ian in Club News

Club Champs March 3

Posted: 16/02/2020 by Ian in Club News

RatingRemember that our premier event, the club champs, will kick off on Tuesday 03 March.

Time control will be the same as last year at 60 minutes + 10 seconds per move from move 1.

One game per night over 6 weeks.

The format will be start time 7.15pm (7.30 on week 1), 1 game per night, open to financial members (or financial members temporarily in arrears), and newly paid up members, only. You can check when your sub is due by going to the website – About > Who We Are. Online payments preferred, see the website for details. If you are not currently a member but want to take part then you can join on the first night.

(Adult: $40 per year, or $25 for 6 months. Juniors $20 per year)

A single division Swiss Style Tournament. The overall winner will be awarded the title Club Champion 2020 and receive all the accolades that are associated with the title. The highest rated junior  will be awarded the title Club Junior Champion 2020.

The draw will be based on Current club ratings. New players without a club rating will be assigned 1500 points for the purposes of the  draw.

Entry permitted in round one and two, but round one preferred!.  If you can’t make it on the first night let me know and you will be awarded a half point bye. If you enter in round two without prior notification you will retrospectively receive a zero point bye for round 1. Also if you want to play but might be a little late on the first night let me know and I will include you in the draw. Please don’t turn up after 7:15. Entries will not be accepted in week three or beyond.

Games start at 7.15pm – a 30 minute late time applies (your game is lost if you are 30 minutes late). Clocks will be started at 7:15 even if neither player is present.

Usual FIDE laws apply with  the exception of the Hamilton Chess Club Special Rules found on the website. Disputes committee will be club executive (Hilton Ian and Richard). If one or two of the disputes committee is/are party to a dispute, the remaining member(s) will constitute the disputes committee.

Please bring a pen if you wish to record your games. Recording is not mandatory, but if you don’t record your game you will not be allowed to claim a draw for the 50 move rule or 3 fold repetition unless agreed by your opponent.

One 1/2 point bye allowed per player, if notified to Ian the Sunday before the round that it applies.

No half point byes allowed in rounds 5 or 6.

Tie breaks will be according to the NZ  standard  1. Direct Encounter. 2. Cumulative (Sum of Progressive Scores). 3. Total Buchholz. 4. Sonneborn-Berger. 5. Buchholz Cut1.   If still tied the award will be share

Next Two Weeks

Posted: 16/02/2020 by Ian in Club News

We only managed two rounds of the Summer Cup on opening night. To finish out the Summer cup we will have rounds 3 and 4 this Tuesday, and rounds 5 and 6 the next. The time control will be 30 + 0.  Week five we will kick off the club champs.

Simul Success

Posted: 15/02/2020 by Ian in Club News

simulWe had 20 for the simul in the end. Notable wins to William and Prashanth. Graham was close to a win with knight and three pawns against bishop and pawn but in the end had to settle for a draw. Regular club nights resume on Tuesday.

Club Welcomes Six New Members!

Posted: 04/02/2020 by Ian in Club News

We set a club record with six new members joining on the first night of the year — Colin Barrett-Hogg, Sivaram Manoharan, Thomas Beier, Stanley Lin, Ben Firestone, Jarvis Xiang. Colin, Sivaram and Jarvis have all returned after several years absence while Thomas Stanley and Ben are new blood.  Welcome guys.

Great Turnout To Start Year Off

Posted: 04/02/2020 by Ian in Club News

We had a great turnout on the first night of the year with 26 players fronting. Several new members joined up, and some members returned after an absence of several years. The club keeps getting stronger and stronger.  We managed only two games due to some computer teething problems and will continue the tournament in two weeks time at slightly longer time control. Next week is the GM simul so don’t miss out.

1 Richard Dare 2.0 +W14 +B12
2 Prashant Mistry 2.0 +B15 +W13
3 Graham Nolan 2.0 +W16 +B8
4 Colin Barrett-Hogg 2.0 +W10 +B7
5 Eushin Kang 2.0 +W22 +B9
6 Sivaram Manoharan 2.0 +B23 +W11
7 Andrew Malcouronne 1.0 +B19 -W4
8 Murray Tuatini 1.0 +W17 -W3
9 Thomas Beier 1.0 +W18 -W5
10 William Crombie 1.0 -B4 +W21
11 Joel Crombie 1.0 +W24 -B6
12 Gary Judkins 1.0 +W25 -W1
13 Andy Song 1.0 +W26 -B2
14 Nathanial Loy 1.0 -B1 +W24
15 Rowan Lightfoot 1.0 -W2 +B25
16 Richard Jackson 1.0 -B3 +W23
17 William Lynn 1.0 -B8 +B20
18 Kevin Li 1.0 -B9 +W22
19 Leo Dizon 1.0 -W7 +B26
20 Ian Kennedy 0.5 =B21 -W17
21 Daniel Dizon 0.5 =W20 -B10
22 Sean Clark 0.0 -B5 -B18
23 Stanley Lin 0.0 -W6 -B16
24 Daniel Loy 0.0 -B11 -B14
25 Ben Firestone 0.0 -B12 -W15
26 Jarvis Xiang 0.0 -B13 -W19