CHess_960_G123Opening preparation will go out the window next week with a  little light hearted fun  in the form of  Fischer Random mini tournament.  The games were will be played at 15 + 0.  The starting positions might look something like the diagrams at left, or a similar diabolical arrangement. Dont miss out. Guests also welcome to join in. The tournament will run over 2 weeks. See you there. Fischer random games are not eligible for club ratings

Winter Cup Goes To Richard

Posted: 24/08/2016 by Ian in Club News
1 Richard Dare 5.0 +W11 +B5 +W2 +B6 -W3 +B7
2 Stefan Wagner 4.5 +B12 +W4 -B1 +W7 =W6 +B3
3 Prashant Mistry 4.0 +B10 +W8 -B6 +W4 +B1 -W2
4 Ian Kennedy 4.0 +W7 -B2 +W9 -B3 +W5 +B10
5 Christopher Symon 4.0 +B14 -W1 +B13 +W8 -B4 +W6
6 Milton Severinsen 3.5 +W15 +B9 +W3 -W1 =B2 -B5
7 Cooper Quinn 3.0 -B4 +W12 +W11 -B2 +B14 -W1
8 Richard Jackson 3.0 +W13 -B3 +W15 -B5 -B10 +BYE
9 Jarvis Xiang 3.0 +B16 -W6 -B4 -W10 +BYE +B14
10 Gary Judkins 2.5 -W3 -B13 =BYE +B9 +W8 -W4
11 Murray Tuatini 1.0 -B1 +W14 -B7
12 Adam Hasan-Stein 1.0 -W2 -B7 +W14
13 Sean Clark 1.0 -B8 +W10 -W5
14 Jeff Xiang 1.0 -W5 -B11 -B12 +BYE -W7 -W9
15 Joel Crombie 1.0 -B6 +W16 -B8
16 Matthys Joubert 0.5 -W9 -B15 =BYE


Winter Cup Standings At Round 3

Posted: 17/08/2016 by Ian in Club News
1 Richard_Dare 3.0 +W11 +B6 +W3
2 Milton_Severinsen 3.0 +W9 +B10 +W4
3 Stefan_Wagner 2.0 +B13 +W5 -B1
4 Prashant_Mistry 2.0 +B14 +W7 -B2
5 Ian_Kennedy 2.0 +W8 -B3 +W10
6 Christopher_Symon 2.0 +B 16 -W1 +B12
7 Richard_Jackson 2.0 +W12 -B4 +W9
8 Cooper_Quinn 2.0 -B5 +W13 +W11
9 Joel_Crombie 1.0 -B2 +W15 -B7
10 Jarvis_Xiang 1.0 +B15 -W2 -B5
11 Murray_Tuatini 1.0 -B1 +W 16 -B8
12 Sean_Clark 1.0 -B7 +W14 -W6
13 Adam_Hasan-Stein 1.0 -W3 -B8 +W 16
14 Gary_Judkins 0.5 -W4 -B12 =BYE
15 Matthys_Joubert 0.5 -W10 -B9 =BYE
 16 Jeff_Xiang 0.0 -W6 -B11 -B13

Ratings and Ladder Updated

Posted: 09/08/2016 by Ian in Club News

LaddergraphClub ratings and club ladder have been updated, as have the graphs of club ratings.

Winter Cup Next Week

Posted: 09/08/2016 by Ian in Club News

snowmanNext week we will start the Winter Cup. Please if you want to be in, make a commitment to be there for both nights.  The time control will be 20+0, 3 games per night, over 2 nights. We will have two solid hours of chess, so kick off will be as soon as the draw is done. Dont be late.

Prashant is Club Rapid Champ

Posted: 09/08/2016 by Ian in Club News

Prashant and Milton both ended up with 5.0 out of 6. Prashant takes the title of Club Rapid Champ 2016 based on tiebreak score. Sivaram is club Rapid Champ (Junior). Final cross tables below.

1 Prashant  Mistry 5.0 +B18 +W11 =B5 +W6 =B3 +W4
2 Milton  Severinsen 5.0 +B14 +W10 -B3 +W5 +B7 +W11
3 Hilton  Bennett 4.5 +W19 +B12 +W2 +B4 =W1 -B8
4 Sivaram  Manoharan 4.0 +W20 +B7 +W9 -W3 +B10 -B1
5 David  Whiting 4.0 +BYE +B8 =W1 -B2 =W6 +B15
6 Graham  Nolan 4.0 =W9 +B24 +W8 -B1 =B5 +W10
7 Richard  Jackson 4.0 +B21 -W4 +B14 +W11 -W2 +B12
8 Richard  Dare 4.0 +B25 -W5 -B6 +W16 +B18 +W3
9 Murray  Tuatini 3.5 =B6 +W13 -B4 -W18 +B21 +W17
10 Ian  Kennedy 3.0 +W16 -B2 +BYE +B12 -W4 -B6
11 Christopher  Symon 3.0 +W15 -B1 +W20 -B7 +W14 -B2
12 Lara  Heppenstall 3.0 +B23 -W3 +B18 -W10 +B17 -W7
13 Jason  Nairn 3.0 +W17 -B9 -W19 +B20 =BYE =W18
14 Joel  Crombie 3.0 -W2 +B16 -W7 +B22 -B11 +W20
15 Sean  Clark 3.0 -B11 -W18 +B21 +BYE +BYE -W5
16 Jarvis  Xiang 3.0 -B10 -W14 +BYE -B8 +BYE +W19
17 Gary  Judkins 2.5 -B13 +W23 =BYE +B19 -W12 -B9
18 Matt  Crombie 2.5 -W1 +B15 -W12 +B9 -W8 =B13
19 Paul  Dalley 2.0 -B3 +W21 +B13 -W17 -BYE -B16
20 Adam  Hasan-Stein 2.0 -B4 +BYE -B11 -W13 +W23 -B14
21 Cooper  Quinn 2.0 -W7 -B19 -W15 +B23 -W9 +B22
22 Shilong  Yang 1.0 +BYE -BYE -W14 -BYE -W21
23 Jeff  Xiang 1.0 -W12 -B17 -BYE -W21 -B20 +W24
24 Finlay  Buckell 0.5 =BYE -W6 -BYE -BYE -B23
25 Dayanand  Sharma 0.0 -W8 -BYE -BYE

Ratings and Ladder Updated

Posted: 03/08/2016 by Ian in Club News

Ratings and ladder have been updated. Note that for ratings purposes all games in a multiweek tournament are deemed to happen on day 1 of the tournament, thus the games in the Rapid are deemed to have occurred on 21/6/16 (ie. before the Waikato Open, even though rounds 5 & 6 are actually after the Open)