Spring (1) At Half Way Mark

Posted: 17/10/2018 by Ian in Club News
1 Richard Dare 3.0 +W17 +B7 +W6
2 Prashant Mistry 3.0 +B13 +W8 +B5
3 Graham Nolan 2.5 +W14 +B10 =W4
4 Rowan Lightfoot 2.5 +B22 +W9 =B3
5 Paul Dalley 2.0 +W24 +B11 -W2
6 Michael Lin 2.0 +B20 +W15 -B1
7 William Crombie 2.0 +B16 -W1 +B15
8 Talmage Scirkovich 2.0 +W21 -B2 +W19
9 Max Stephens 2.0 +W19 -B4 +W14
10 Gary Judkins 2.0 +B23 -W3 +B16
11 William Lynn 2.0 +B18 -W5 +B13
12 Ian Kennedy 2.0 -W15 +B20 +W18
13 Nathanial Loy 1.0 -W2 +B21 -W11
14 Kevin Li 1.0 -B3 +W23 -B9
15 Cam Sundararaj 1.0 +B12 -B6 -W7
16 Zane Brown 1.0 -W7 +B17 -W10
17 Udula Bandara 1.0 -B1 -W16 +B23
18 Richard Jackson 1.0 -W11 +B24 -B12
19 Joel Crombie 1.0 -B9 +W22 -B8
20 Sean Clark 1.0 -W6 -W12 +B24
21 Shan Sundararaj 1.0 -B8 -W13 +B22
22 Daniel Loy 0.0 -W4 -B19 -W21
23 Andy Song 0.0 -W10 -B14 -W17
24 Ricky Hall 0.0 -B5 -W18 -W20

Club Players Take National Title

Posted: 12/10/2018 by Ian in Club News

is-intermediate-goldSeptember 29th-30th 2018 – Interschools National Finals, Mt Maunganui.

Two hundred and fifty students and at least 80 anxious parents and teachers travelled to Mount Maunganui for NZCF’s annual NZ Interschool Chess Finals on 29th and 30th September. The 60 school teams had all won their regional tournaments or been awarded one of a handful of “wildcard” spots. The finals were organised and run by at Mt Maunganui College by Bob and Viv Smith, with the help of members of the Mount Chess Club.

Seedings – always a bit of a guess at school level – proved remarkably accurate in the secondary and primary championships, with top seeds Macleans College and Pinehurst School (both from Auckland) convincing winners.

But seventh seeds Berkley Middle School (Hamilton) pulled off an upset in the intermediate division, finishing ahead of more fancied rivals.

The medal winning schools and team compositions were:


1st Pinehurst School    Felix Xie, Kenny Zhang, Ryan Fan, Allen Weng, Nicholas Xu

2nd Willow Park School  Matthew Chen, Emma Zhuang, Eddie Kim, Chenchen Wang, Wyatt Liu

3rd Eastern Hutt School Paul He, Ben Guo, Zac Li, Shaasthin Nithyananthan


1st Berkley Middle School   Lasen Silva, Aidan Morgan, Daniel Loy, Cam Sundararaj

2nd Murrays Bay Int     Andrew Li, Allen Li, Nathan Jin, Andy Song

3rd Mt Roskill Int      Nico McKinlay, Renae Ghadiali, Saasha Ghadiali, Adam Ali, Saahir Saheb


1st Macleans College    Richard Jiang, Terry Shen, Judd Zhan, Kevin Guan, Oliver Dai

2nd Auckland Grammar    Allen Fan, Aaron Wang, James Liu, Nicholas Huang

3rd King’s College      Darrick Pan, Brian Qi, Ryan Nguyen, Fia Fa’afuhia


Club Recess For Two Weeks

Posted: 26/09/2018 by Ian in Club News

Club resume on 16th October

Graded Robin Success

Posted: 26/09/2018 by Ian in Club News


The graded robin last night was a success with 28 players in 7 divisions competing. Richard and Ruchira top scored in their respective divisions winning all three games. We will have another graded robin next term. Ratings tables have been updated.

Divison 1

1 Richard Dare 3.0 +W2 +B4 +W3
2 Prashant Mistry 1.0 -B1 -W3 +W4
3 Graham Nolan 1.0 -W4 +B2 -B1
4 William Lynn 1.0 +B3 -W1 -B2


Divison 2

5 Lara Heppenstall 2.0 +W6 -B8 +W7
6 Michael Lin 1.0 -B5 -W7 +W8
7 Max Stephens 2.0 +W8 +B6 -B5
8 Ian Kennedy 1.0 -B7 +W5 -B6


Divison 3

9 William Crombie 1.5 +W11 =B12 -W10
10 Ruchira Silva 3.0 +W12 +B11 +B9
11 Udula Bandara 1.0 -B9 -W10 +W12
12 Alex Treat 0.5 -B10 =W9 -B11


Divison 4

13 Gary Judkins 2.5 +W14 +B16 =W15
14 Rowan Lightfoot 2.0 -B13 +W15 +W16
15 Nathanial Loy 1.0 =W16 -B14 =B13
16 Richard Jackson 0.5 =B15 -W13 -B14


Divison 5

17 Joel Crombie 1.5 -W19 +B21 =W20
19 Lasen Silva 2.0 +B17 -W20 +W21
20 Sean Clark 2.5 +W21 +B19 =B17
21 Shan Sundararaj 0.0 -B20 -W17 -B19


Divison 6

22 Cam Sundararaj 2.5 +W23 =B25 +W24
23 Andy Song 1.0 -B22 +W24 -W25
24 Daniel Loy 0.0 -W25 -B23 -B22
25 Zane Brown 2.5 +B24 =W22 +B23


Divison 7

18 Kevin Li 2.5 =W26 +B28 +W27
26 Ricky Hall 1.5 =B18 -W27 +W28
27 Esandi Silva 1.0 -W28 +B26 -B18
28 Daniel Pipe 1.0 +B27 -W18 -B26



Members Only Next Week

Posted: 19/09/2018 by Ian in Club News

We will have a graded Robin of three games with groups of four players based on your current club ranking next week. Time control will be 20 + 0. Don’t be late because once the groups are set I cant go back and remake them all.

Richard is club Blitz Champ for 2018

Posted: 19/09/2018 by Ian in Club News
1 Richard Dare 6.0 +W15 +B6 +W13 +B2 +W3 +B8
2 Graham Nolan 5.0 +W12 +B16 +W11 -W1 +B14 +W5
3 Prashant Mistry 4.5 =B4 +W18 +B7 +W17 -B1 +W14
4 Udula Bandara 4.5 =W3 +B15 +W10 -B6 +W13 +B12
5 Lara Heppenstall 4.0 +W20 -B11 +W12 +B16 +W6 -B2
6 Max Stephens 4.0 +B23 -W1 +B19 +W4 -B5 +W18
7 Michael Lin 4.0 +W24 +B17 -W3 -B11 +W10 +B15
8 William Lynn 4.0 +B26 -W13 +B9 +W18 +B11 -W1
9 Eushin Kang 3.5 +W22 =B10 -W8 -B12 +W20 +W11
10 Nathanial Loy 3.5 +B25 =W9 -B4 +W26 -B7 +W19
11 Ruchira Silva 3.0 +B14 +W5 -B2 +W7 -W8 -B9
12 Joel Crombie 3.0 -B2 +W21 -B5 +W9 +B17 -W4
13 Rowan Lightfoot 3.0 +W27 +B8 -B1 -W14 -B4 +W21
14 Kevin Li 3.0 -W11 +B20 +W27 +B13 -W2 -B3
15 Richard Jackson 3.0 -B1 -W4 +B24 +W23 +B21 -W7
16 Ian Kennedy 3.0 +B21 -W2 +B23 -W5 -B18 +B24
17 William Crombie 3.0 +B19 -W7 +B26 -B3 -W12 +W23
18 Gary Judkins 3.0 +W31 -B3 +W22 -B8 +W16 -B6
19 Lasen Silva 2.5 -W17 +B24 -W6 =B20 +W22 -B10
20 Andy Song 2.5 -B5 -W14 +B25 =W19 -B9 +W27
21 Shan Sundararaj 2.0 -W16 -B12 +W31 +B22 -W15 -B13
22 Daniel Loy 2.0 -B9 +W25 -B18 -W21 -B19 +W31
23 Sean Clark 2.0 -W6 +B31 -W16 -B15 +W27 -B17
24 Cam Sundararaj 2.0 -B7 -W19 -W15 +B31 +B26 -W16
25 Zane Brown 2.0 -W10 -B22 -W20 -B27 +W31 +W26
26 Esandi Silva 1.0 -W8 +B27 -W17 -B10 -W24 -B25
27 Ricky Hall 1.0 -B13 -W26 -B14 +W25 -B23 -B20
31 Richard Ismay 0.0 -B18 -W23 -B21 -W24 -B25 -B22

NewTime Control For Club Blitz

Posted: 12/09/2018 by Ian in Club News

blitzWe will have six rounds of blitz next week, time control 5 + 5 which is a departure from our usual blitz of 5 + 3. Dont be late. Non-members welcome