Huge Turnout And High Drama At School Pupils’ Competition

Posted: 11/08/2013 by Ian in Club News

Waikato_Regional_Competition_2013We had 100 pupils competing in the Waikato School Pupils Chess Tournament held at Southwell School today, as well as high drama with the Secondary division going “down to the wire”.

Schools played in teams of four vying for the privilege of representing the Waikato region at the National School’s competition to be held in Tauranga later in the year. There were 8 teams in the Primary division, 10 in the Intermediate, and 7 in the Secondary. The Primary and Secondary competitions were run as all-play-all round robins, while the Intermediate pupils took part in a seven round Swiss style tournament. Secondary pupils played with clocks (15 minutes for the game, plus a 5 second increment from round 1).

Honours in the Primary division went to Hukanui(1), first on 21.5 points, followed by Hukanui(2), second on 21. Southwell(1) took third place with a score of 18.5.

In the Intermediate division first was Fairfield(1) on 21, followed by Peachgrove(1) on 17, and third Maeroa(1) on 15 points.

In a repeat of last years Secondary division tournament, St Pauls(1) and Hamilton Boys High School(1) were tied first equal after 7 rounds on 25 points each. Third place went to St John’s on 18.5. A tiebreak round was played between St Pauls and HBHS(1), but the score remained locked with each side getting two further wins. A second tiebreak was held but again each team managed two wins and the scores remained deadlocked. A third tiebreak round was held at the shorter time control of 10 minutes for the game with no increment. Boards 3 and 4 were the first decided, both going the way of HBHS(1). Board two then went to St Pauls(1), leaving Board 1 to either clinch it for HBHS(1) or force a further tiebreak. In the end Christopher Symon took the point off Daniel Davis, securing the win for HBHS(1).

Congratulations to all competitors, and thank you to the parents for supporting the day. Thanks also to Gary and Gerri Judkins for organizing, Hilton for running the pairings smoothly, Ian and Graham for arbiting, and Southwell School for the venue. We wish the Waikato representatives every success at the forthcoming national tournament, and look forward to seeing you all back to compete in next years events.

Some photos from the day are here


Comments are closed.