Waikato Open 2013 Results Are In

Posted: 28/07/2013 by Ian in Club News

DSC05470The Waikato Open 2013 was a great success with 38 players. The Open division was contested by 19 players with FM Bob Smith taking the $325 first prize on a score of out of 5 out 6. As well as the cash prize Bob was pleased with what he calculated to be an extra 22 points added to his FIDE rating following the weekend’s effort. Second place was a three way tie between FM Mike Steadman, FM Mark Noble, and Craig Blaxall. In the Under 1800 division 18 players toughed it out. Richard Dare managed 5 out of 6 to take out first place. Tony Wang was second on 4.5 points, and third place was a three way tie between Benjamin Symon, Allen Fan, and Ian Kennedy all on 4 points. In the grade prizes Caleb Wright (3.5 out of 6) took the U2000 cash prize on points, and there was a five way tie in the U1500 between Daniel Davis, Lillian Dare, Christopher Symon, Murray Tuatini, and Dion Charles, all on 3 out of 6. The Len Whitehouse Cup for the highest scoring Waikato player went to club member Eddie Tan, who managed 3 points in the Open Division. The William Lynn Trophy for the best Waikato Junior went to Benjamin Symon. Club ratings have been updated to reflect the weekend’s games. The full crosstables are here, and the rogue’s gallery is here.  The Champions board has been updated here. Thanks to all the participants, especially those that made the effort to attend from out of town, and thanks once again to Keong Ang for his super smooth running of the tournament. We hope to see you all again next year.


Comments are closed.