Waikato Open A Great Success

Posted: 29/06/2014 by Ian in Club News

???????????????????????????????Once again Hilton, with the able assistance of Keong Ang as Arbiter, put togethere a fantastic tournament with 37 entries from as far away as Nelson. Nine of the participants hold official FIDE titles of one sort or another reflecting the strength of the top boards, but the tournament also had a share of under 1200 rated players. Top score, and the title of Waikato Open Champion 2014,  went to Michael Steadman on 5.5 out of 6. Mark Noble (5) came second, with Ben Hague and Ralph Hart sharing third equal (4.5).  Under 1950 honours were shared by Jack James, Efrain Tionko, and Viv Smith (all on 3.5). Under 1700 first equal was shared by William Crombie and Philip Mukkattu (3.5). Joel Crombie and Toby Zhang shared first equal in the under 1200 grade (2).  The William Lynn Cup for best result by a Waikato school pupil went to Daniel Davis. The Len Whitehouse Memorial Trophy (best result by a Waikato player) was shared by Hilton Bennett and William Crombie. The full crosstable is here, and some obligatory photos are here. The official NZCF record of the tournament can be found here. We look forward to seeing you all again next year.


Comments are closed.