Waikato Open Draws 46 Competitors

Posted: 05/08/2012 by Ian in Club News

Combining a top class venue with the organisational skills of Hilton Bennett and Keong Ang meant that once again the Waikato Open was a resounding success for the forty six participants, some from as far away as the South Island. The Open division was contested by 22 individuals including one IM and 3 FM. First place (4.5 out of 6) was a three way tie between Ben Hague, Mark Noble, and Ralph Hart. The Len Whitehouse Memorial Trophy for the best Waikato Player in the open division went to club member William Lynn. Twenty four aspirants tussled it out in the under 1800 division with first placed (5.0 out of 6) shared equally by Ian Kennedy and Nigel Crombie. David Chen and Arvin Lim took the first equal grade prize in the under 1500. The William Lynn Trophy for the best local junior was shared by Sheng Cao and Daniel Davis. A big thank you to all the participants and we look forward to an even bigger tournament turnout next year. Cross tables are located here and once again the obligatory rogues gallery is included here.


Comments are closed.